How Similiar Job Hunting and War Are

Ever since my graduation and obtaining my Bachelor’s Degree in early May, I can’t help but notice that it is impossible to find a job for myself.

I certainly have been trying. I send out at least four applications a week to different companies and positions that I’m qualified for in areas that are relevant to what I studied, but the most common rejection I have been given (and I’ve been given back dozens) is my lack of real world experience. “Our company has decided to go with a more experienced individual for this position.” From the many times I’ve received that e-mail, I have only been accepted to one interview that I was eventually rejected from as well, because of my lack of direct experience.

And then it dawned on me that job hunting is like war: it’s a fierce competition between you and them to come out on top.

Obtaining a job is a long process. Start as early as you can to send out resumes, even as far out as two to three months before you graduate. Most jobs don’t close applications for a few weeks, then they finally do interviews for a week or two, and depending on the job, training can take another week. By then, time has slipped away and you’re set up to begin your new career shortly after you walk the stage.

I would suggest networking like crazy to anyone who’s in the field that you want to work in. A lot of new graduates manage to secure jobs from the companies they interned with, and you can never have too many references who will back you up when future employers check out your background.

Try not to move away to a place you’ve never been. I feel like part of my downfall is because I moved to follow my husband, not because the area held promising job opportunities. I’m trying to find work that doesn’t want/need/exist for me.

There will be a lot of rejection if you’re not one of the lucky/privileged few. Do not be discouraged though. Do not lose hope. The best thing you can do is get back up and keep on hunting. Our road may be harder travel, but it’s not impossible to traverse.

Even after two months, I still haven’t given up either.

Leave a Reply

